October 1 – October 30  |  AN Bush Gallery

Reception October, 1 from 5:30 p.m. – 7:30 p.m.

Organized by Artists in Action (AIA), Paint The Town/Write the Town is an opportunity for area artists, photographers and poets of all skill levels to meet and create art inspired by picturesque areas in and around Salem. The mission of this event is to raise awareness of the arts and artists in the Salem area, offer artists an organized event where they can create art outdoors with a juried exhibit opportunity, and to invite the public to observe the artists at work and their artwork.  

“Dusk at Baskett Slough”
Deanna White

Salem artist Aron Michael Johnston will judge the visual art and will select the works that will receive the first, second, and third place awards, and three honorable mention awards. The Salem Art Director will select their namesake award, and there will be a People’s Choice Award that will be determined at the close of the show.

This year our locations were: Zena Forest, Baskett Slough National Wildlife Refuge, Buena Vista Lavender Farm, Gaiety Hollow, Cubanisimo Vineyards, Guentner’s Gardens, Sebright Gardens, Riverfront Park, Deepwood Estate/Gardens, Bush’s Pasture Park, Minto Brown Island Growers Farm and a private garden.

“Baskett Slough Reflections”
Jim Richards

The visual artists exhibiting this year are: Jane Adams, Barbara Barrick, Richard Berry, Lorraine Dye, Nancy Eng, Anne Ferguson, Merren Garland, Cynthia Herron, Gay Hopkins, Samuel Hoskins, Carolyn Kollegger, Brigitte Miller, John Mohney, Judy Mohney, Ann Moore, Jim Richards, Debbie Robinson, Kathy Seubert, Deanna White and Patricia Young.

“Memories” by
Samuel Hoskins

The poets exhibiting are: Eleanor Berry, Marilyn Johnston, Jade Rosina McCutcheon, Michael Shuler, Dina Triest, and John Van Dreal.

Awards will be posted next to the winning pieces, and visitors can complete a People’s Choice ballot.

For more about the Artists in Action, a non-profit organization that connects artists of all levels, please visit

Paint & Write the Town 2021 Award Winners

Scene from the Gardens-Deepwood
Carolyn Kollegger

Congratulations to the following award-winning artists!

1st Place, Carolyn Kollegger “Scene from the Gardens-Deepwood
2nd Place, Patricia Young “Cubanisimo Wine Garden
3rd Place, Jim Richards “Baskett Slough Reflections

Honorable Mentions:
Deanna White – “Baskett Slough View”
Richard Berry – “Zena Workshop Loft
Samuel Hoskins – “Memories
SAA Director’s Award-1: “The Gardeners Envy” by Jane Adams
SAA Director’s Award-2: “Memories” by Samuel Hoskins

Make sure to stop by to cast your vote for the 2021 People’s Choice award!